Left: Ryan Smiley, President and CEO of Boys and Girls Clubs, right, presents Jeff Strack of Strack & Van Til with a National Service to Youth award. Strack, whose term is ending, served on the Youth Development Board for 20 years. Right: Michael Simpson of ME Simpson Co., Inc., left, and Ryan Smiley, President and CEO of Boys and Girls Clubs. Simpson served as the 2021 chairman of the organization’s board of directors. He will assume the post of outgoing president in 2022.

The Boys & Girls Clubs of Far Northwest Indiana honored the outgoing board members earlier this month in a small ceremony at Avalon Manor. President and CEO Ryan Smiley also welcomed the new board members and presented service awards.

Members of the board whose terms are ending include Leslie Berg of Centier Bank, Bonnie Coleman of Hodges & Davis, Jeff Strack of Strack & Van Til, Chuck Kreisl of Calumet Harley Davidson and Christine Russell. Smiley thanked the group for their work, noting that combined, the outgoing board members have over 50 years of service to the organization.

“These dedicated people have given generously of their time and talents year after year in service of our mission,” said Smiley. “They provided advice, helped us achieve an organizational merger, and worked hard to make sure the Boys and Girls Clubs help develop the youth of Northwest Indiana. I thank them very much for their dedication.

Smiley also presented six board members with the National Service to Youth Award, given to staff, board members or volunteers who have accumulated at least five years of dedicated full-time or part-time service. to the boys ‘and girls’ club movement. Matt Glaros of Meyers Glaros was honored for five years of service. Tim Rice of CAPTRUST and Larry Moore received the award for 15 years of service. Kreisl, Strack and David Hollenbeck of Blachly, Tabor, Bozik & Hartman received the award for 20 years of service.

SUPPLIED / photos

SUPPLIED / photos

Hollenbeck will continue in his role as legal advisor in 2022. Glaros, who served as vice chairman of the board in 2021, will be the next chairman of the board. Other changes in 2022 include the filling of the executive committee of the board of directors. Dan Marchetti from Urschel Labs will become a member of the board of directors and will be the new treasurer. Rene Martin of First Merchants Bank will serve as vice president, and Tim Rice of CAPTRUST will serve as secretary. Current chairman of the board, Michael Simpson of ME Simpson Co., Inc., will become the past chairman.

Finally, Smiley welcomed two new board members, Dr. Amy McCormack, President of Calumet College of St. Joseph and Tiffani Davis of Centier Bank.

“We are excited about what the future holds for our organization,” said Smiley. “It’s always bittersweet when board members move on. But we have two great new people arriving, and they will be a welcome addition to our amazing board of directors. ”