PHILADELPHIA CREAM – Marquette M Club Hall of Fame men’s lacrosse player Liam Byrnes became the first former MU player to win a Premier Lacrosse League championship on Sunday afternoon as Waterdogs LC beat Chaos at Subaru Park.

Byrnes, a star tight defender, picked up five ground balls in the title game win to lead the Waterdogs to their first PLL crown. During the regular season, Byrnes led the team and ranked second in the league with 15 turnovers caused, while recording 27 ground runs.

The West Islip, New York native became one of the best lacrosse players in the world, earning Major League Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year honors in 2019 and was ranked 27th in the Top 50 PLL Players 2021. He won a silver medal this summer with the USA team roster of six when competing at the 2022 World Games in Birmingham, Alabama.

Byrnes is Marquette’s all-time leader in rushed balls (218) and caused turnovers (102) and in his final season in 2016 he was a second-team USILA USA, was the player BIG EAST Defensive of the Year and First Team All-BIG EAST. selection. Byrnes, who has spent time in the PLL, MLL and NLL, was Florida Launch’s first Major League Lacrosse draft pick in 2016.

Waterdogs LC were the league’s first expansion club in 2020 under head coach Andy Copelan and previous rosters included former Golden Eagles BJ Grill (2012-16) and Noah Richard (2016-19 ).

Follow the Marquette Men’s Lacrosse Program on social media by following on Twitter (@MarquetteMLax) and Instagram (@MarquetteMLax) and “like” on Facebook (/MarquetteMLax).