Get instant alerts when news breaks on your stocks. Claim your one week free trial for StreetInsider Premium here.

Leaders recognized for their contributions to foot and ankle orthopedics

Rosemont, Ill., Sept. 26, 2022 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) — More than 900 orthopedic foot and ankle surgeons, advanced healthcare practitioners, orthopedic residents and medical students participated in the American Orthopedic Foot & Ankle Society® (AOFAS) Annual Meeting September 14-17, 2022. The meeting was held in person in Quebec, Canada, as well as virtually.

The meeting offered attendees 68 live presentations, 90 poster presentations, 319 audio posters and the opportunity to connect with 57 exhibiting companies. During the meeting, the Society presented its most prestigious awards to researchers and leaders in foot and ankle orthopedics, including:

  • 2022 Roger A. Mann Awardawarded in recognition of the outstanding clinical paper presented at the “Total Ankle Replacement Versus Arthrodesis (TARVA) Randomized Controlled Trial: 2 Year Results” meeting, presented to Andrew J. Goldberg, OBE, MD, FRCS(Tr&Orth).
  • J price. Leonard Goldner 2022acknowledging the outstanding research paper, “Passive Eversion Assessment for Progressive Collapsing Foot Deformity After Lateral Column Lengthening: A Cadaveric Biomechanical Study”, presented to Jeffrey W. Hoffman, MD.
  • IFFAS Excellence Award, awarded to the best international paper, “Minimally Invasive Chevron-Akin for Correction of Moderate and Severe Hallux Valgus Deformities”, presented to Kepler Carvalho, MD.

Orthopedic Foot and Ankle Surgeon Lauren E. Geaney, MD, of Farmington, Connecticut, and former AOFAS Executive Director Lousanne “Zan” Lofgren, of River Forest, Illinois, accepted the Women’s Leadership Awards 2022, established by the Orthopedic foot and ankle foundation recognize female contributions and leadership in the specialty. Ruth L. Thomas, MD, received the Pierce E. Scranton Humanitarian Service Award in recognition of her volunteer work providing foot and ankle surgeries to patients in underserved areas of the world.

Also at the annual meeting, AOFAS and The Arthritis Foundation announced an exciting new collaboration, the Ankle Arthritis Think Tank. This $600,000 research partnership will establish several merit-based grants over a two-year period to fuel ankle osteoarthritis research.

On the third day of the meeting, orthopedic foot and ankle surgeon Bryan D. Den Hartog, MD, of Twin Cities Orthopedics in Minnesota, was named the 2022-23 President of AOFAS. “I look forward to leading the Society that has meant so much to me professionally and personally,” said Dr. Den Hartog. Watch the AOFAS Presidential Remarks and Orthopedic Foot and Ankle Foundation Update recorded live on the AOFAS Facebook page.

About Orthopedic Foot and Ankle Surgeons

Orthopedic foot and ankle surgeons are physicians (MDs and DOs) who specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal disorders and injuries of the foot and ankle. Their education and training consists of four years of medical school, five years of postgraduate residency, and one year of fellowship training in specialty surgery. These specialists care for patients of all ages, performing reconstructive surgery for deformities and arthritis, treating sports injuries and managing foot and ankle trauma.

About AOFA

The American Orthopedic Foot & Ankle Society (AOFAS) mobilizes our vibrant community of orthopedic foot and ankle surgeons to improve patient care through education, research, and advocacy. As the world’s premier organization for foot and ankle care, AOFAS provides exceptional continuing education events and resources, funds and promotes innovative research, and expands patient understanding of foot and ankle conditions and treatments. of the ankle. With a focus on collaboration and excellence, AOFAS inspires ever-increasing levels of professional performance leading to better patient outcomes. For more information, visit the American Orthopedic Foot & Ankle Society online at